Ruby is Off the Goat Milk and Talking

Ruby will be two years old in December. She still wakes up at least 2 times at night. It is not uncommon for it to be 4 or even 5 times a night.

…. And I’m tired of it.

I posted the situation on a GAPS support group on Facebook for help. One of the replies stated they believed that Ruby’s body hadn’t healed enough yet for her to fully absorb the fat she was eating. Thus, her brain was sending the signal to her body to wake up at night to eat. They suggested that the goat milk could be the cause. Jennifer Tow suggested the same last I spoke to her at the beginning of the year. One of these days, I will take my own advise and actually listen to her the first time.

So, actually I had been playing around with the idea of taking Ruby Sue off the goat milk for several months now. I have been putting it off because I was afraid she would loose weight from not consuming enough calories or fat. At least that’s what I told people. The real reason I put it off is because of the bonding. I didn’t have a good experiene nursing her. But the time at night where I would hold her and give her a bottle was all I really had of that experience. I wasn’t ready to give that up. Truth be told I’m still not ready. But I knew I had to do something to help her. I can’t continue to hold her back because I want to keep her little.

At the time I decided to try eliminating goat milk, Ruby was still drinking close to 30 ounces of milk a day! I also wanted to get her off the bottle because she kept getting fluid behind her ears.

I know that Ruby is sensitive to caisine (cow milk protein) because she has reactions whenever she eats it. There have been so obvious reactions to the goat milk. However, often time, reactions are only recognizable once the offending agent is removed from the diet and the body heals from the damage that was caused by the agent.

At first I tried to mix her milk with chicken broth, half and half, in an attempt to wean her slowly from goat milk onto broth. But she wasn’t interested in that AT ALL. She drank just straight broth better. I started with a sippy cup but soon went to a regular straw and cup.

The first night didn’t go so well. She woke up often and drank little broth. She fussed because she wanted the milk. That morning she ate me out of the house! Two eggs, a banana, and two handfuls of raisins. She ate a ton of food all day!

The second night was much better. She laid down without a fuss, drinking about 2-3 ounces of broth. She only woke up once. She continued eating me out of the house the next day as well.

Today marks one week being off goat milk. Her eating has calmed down a bit now. She only wakes one time at night and usually goes right back to bed without wanting to even drink anything. Last night she woke up only because she cold from kicking the covers off of her. I believe that her body has already experience significant healing so that she doesn’t need as much food because she can actually absorb it more efficiently.

But that’s not even the most exciting part!

The last two or three days, Ruby has started talking! I mean, constantly! She may not be able to form the words well, but she is actually making attempts at speech! Dog, duck, splash, Diego, ball, night-night, water, eat, and many more! The difference is UNREAL! I am so thankful for her progress and finally getting the courage to do it!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Panaway for Pain | Samantha Guerra

  2. Far out I know your pain! When I found out my son was allergic to dairy we took him off it and he started sleeping through and talking. It’s such a tough journey trying to avoid Casein but so worth it when they react so badly.

  3. Pingback: Healing Ruby’s Gut | Samantha Guerra

Leave a Reply

