Back on Track

Since December 2011, I have been gluten, corn, and dairy free. We began the GAPS diet mid-April. Things were going great. I felt great! I lost a lot of weight.

Then life happened….

Both girls were sick. Then Ruby was VERY sick. She was actually in the hospital for a day and a half. The day we were discharged from the hospital, my husband, Michael, tore his Achilles tendon.

Then the real fun started: fireworks.

Our youth group runs a fireworks tent every July to raise funds for our youth program. My husband, the youth pastor, is the manager of the tent. He is responsible for closing the tent… every night. The tent closes no earlier than 10pm. If there’s still steady traffic, we keep it open until there are no longer any customers coming. The catch is, he couldn’t drive because he tore the Achilles in his right ankle.

My poor children did not get to bed before mid-night the entire time the fireworks tent was in progress. We weren’t at home long enough to make meals. So I had to pick food up…

I am ashamed to say this… but it was fast food.

Everyday.

Several times a day.

That stuff is addicting! I have struggled ever sense. Due to the toxics properties of the food (gluten in particular), at first I was really mean and impatient. That passed after a few weeks. I continued to make excuses (some of them were legit… but only some) for indulging in unhealthy, toxic foods.

I have now gained almost 10 pounds back, in less than 2 months. My back pain has returned. Foggy mind. I locked the keys in house. Twice. I struggle with energy levels again. I have blisters on the side of my thighs again. Things just aren’t pretty for me right now.

On the way to teach my first Young Living Oils Class last night, I began praying. Seeking God. I’m tired of this! I’m tired of not feeling alive anymore. Jesus said that he came to the Earth that I might have abundant life, not just survive one train-wreck day after another. I want what he has for me. I want all of it! (John 10:10)

I believe our bodies are the temple of the Holy Ghost ( 2 Corinthians 6:19-20) and as such we are to take special care of our bodies. We would not think it appropriate to abuse, vandalize, steal from, or disrespect the church building. Why? It is God’s sacred place. It is not common, it is to be respected and taken care of.

So are our bodies!

I have recommitted myself to health. Just as Daniel “purposed in his heart that he would not defile himself,” in Daniel 1:8, I have purposed myself also.

My refusal to indulge in unhealthy food is not out of snobbery. Please do not be offended if I pass on the cake at your party. It’s not even because of me. It has nothing to do with who I am- but because of who HE is! My body is not my own, this is the Lord’s body and as such, I have the responsibility to care for it diligently.

I have changed my verbiage. No longer am I saying, “I am trying to get back on track.” I now say, “I AM back on track!”

Leave a Reply

