Roasted Kale Recipe

I have read about Kale here and there in health blogs and internet articles. It’s been listed in the top 10 healthiest vegetables. I dismissed it previously because I didn’t even know what it was. It was green and leafy, therefore, it must be nasty.

Then one fateful day, I saw the light. I have been on this journey the be a discoverer of food. I had come to like several foods that I previously didn’t like. Actually, many of them I had never tried. They looked unprocessed and without sugar, therefore I didn’t like them. But I decided to begin to start tasting my food. Now I LOVE food! Real food. Not junk food (which isn’t food at all).

I knew I needed more green leafy vegetables in my diet and I was sick of spinach and broccoli. So I decided to take a leap of faith and try Kale.

The best way I can describe Kale is that it’s like a cross between spinach and broccoli. It’s leafy like spinach, but it’s leaves are ruffled around the edges so it looks a little like a broccoli floret. The taste is comparable to the to, at least to me, it is.

I found this recipe from allrecipes.com. My family and I instantly feel in love. So without further ado, here it is!

Roasted Kale

Ingrediants:

*one bunch of kale

*safflower oil (never cook with olive oil)

*2 fresh garlic cloves, minced

*chili powder

*sea salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven at 375 degrees. Pour oil into a large mixing bowl. I just “eye-ball” this. You want enough to toss the kale leaves in it. So it really depends on how large of a bunch you have. You want the leaves well coated, but not drenched.

2. Stir in the garlic, chili powder, and sea salt. The chili powder and salt are to taste.

3. While the flavors and mixing with the oil, wash the kale. Tear the leafy part off the stem. Cut leaves to size, approximately 1″x1″.

4. Toss in the oil mixure until evenly coated.

5. Spread into roasting pan. You may also use a cookie sheet, it’s just more difficult to stir without accidentally knocking some off the cookie sheet.

6. Cook until crispy, stirring occasionally. About 15 minutes.

3 responses

  1. 1 bunch of Kale (I like mine chopped)
    Olive oil
    Fresh minced garlic
    Himalayan sea salt
    Black and cayenne pepper
    Tumeric
    lemon juice
    1 avocado
    Diced tomatoes
    Diced red peppers
    pine nuts or sunflower seeds

    Mash avocado. Add lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and spices. Toss with veggies and nuts.
    Besides the raw power of the veggies, the spices are wonderful anti-inlammatory foods!

Leave a Reply

