Chocolate Pudding from an Avocado

We all know avocados are healthy. I think they taste like mashed up grass, but they are healthy. Avocados contain folate, vitamins B6, C, E, and K, potassium, magnesium, monounsaturated fats, and lutein (an antioxidant that promotes healthy vision and skin). Folate is especially important for those who are pregnant. It is said that a deficiency in this nutrient can lead to midline defects (like tongue tie). Jennifer Tow told me that the type of fat in avocados help to restore the connection between the breast and the gut, thereby increasing milk supply and making the milk more dense in nutrients. I was instructed to eat one a day. However, I don’t like avocados. I tried, but it was too nasty.

Then I found this: a recipe for chocolate pudding. The base is an avocado. How about that?! I like chocolate pudding. But  I can’t have it because it contains dairy. Until now! We had this last night for dessert. It was super rich. One avocado made enough for us both. It didn’t look like it was a lot, but it was so rich I could hardly finish my portion. The recipe calls for agave nectar. I don’t have any of that so I just used sugar. So it has a lot of sugar in it. But I have a plan! I intend to make this again in the next few days. I plan to try using stevia instead. I’ll update this post at that point and let you know how much stevia and how it tasted.

Now, I have a plan! You don’t have to tell me twice to have this yummy pudding every day! I’ll gladly take that!

Recipe for Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Servings: two

Ingredients:

1 avocado

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

1/4 cup of agave nectar (or 1/2 cup of sugar)

1/4 cup of milk (I use coconut milk)

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1. Peel and pit the avocado.

2. Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender (I use a ninja)

3. Blend until smooth. You may need to scrape the edges once or twice.

For more information on the nutrients in avocados, you can click here.

Leave a Reply

