Nursing Loretta

On Monday morning, January 2, Loretta climbed in bed with us. My shirt came up and she asked to nurse.

She has been “nursing” for about six months now. I use quotation marks because she hasn’t been transferring much milk. She bites, turns her lips under, and is generally a mess. I guess she forgot how to nurse.

I hadn’t pumped for the last 12 hours or so (I know…. I know…. I should be pumping more frequently, but it’s so draining and time-consuming). I was full and she transferred a good amount of milk. She came very close to emptying the breast.

She has been nursing since. She asks to nurse 3-4 times a day. She still turns her lips under and bites occasionally, but she’s figured out how to transfer milk. Maybe Ruby will watch her big sister and get a clue. In the meantime, I think I’ll just enjoy nursing!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Emptying the Breast | Samantha Guerra

Leave a Reply

