All I Want for Christmas

Earlier this month, we celebrated Ruby’s first birthday. I remembered that night I had her so vividly. For most of my labor I had Mariah Carrey’s song, “All I Want for Christmas is You.” How appropriate! It was such a magical night.

This year, the Christmas season has even more magical. I have enjoyed watching my two girls pull ornaments off the tree, look at lights, and play with the bows on the presents under the tree. It has been a great holiday season so far. And the best is yet to come!

Family and Friends have asked me w hat I want for Christmas. What I want? I want to nurse my Ruby Sue. I feel like I’m so close to it! I feel like if we can just fix her jaw, then she can start gaining weight again and have a strong enough suck without pain. The she would be able to nurse again!

She hasn’t gained weight in a while again. We have another appointment with the pediatrican on Thursday. I dread it with all my being. I know they are going to flip out because she hasn’t gained any weight.

But Ruby is very active. Walking and now, almost running! Additionally, she doesn’t eat more than 30 ounces of milk a day. She usually takes only 3.5 ounces at a time. I think it’s because her jaw hurts. She starts rubbing her jaw towards the end of the feeding, then comes off suddenly, like she just can’t take it anymore.  It’s pitiful.

Tomorrow we have a chiropractor appointment and then we’re heading to see Tim Reep (the cool CST guy). I’m praying for a breakthrough. I’m also praying for a breakthrough for my friend, Mandy. She is supposed to arrive at my house in a few minutes. I can’t wait to meet her in person. She is bringing her little Ruby Kate to be treated by Tim Reep also. I’ll let you know how it goes! I’m super excited about what lies in store!

Leave a Reply

