Why I Enjoy Finger Feeding

When people hear my story and see me finger feed Ruby Sue, I get many questions about it. I don’t mind. I enjoy having an opportunity to educate others and raise awareness about tongue ties. But there’s more to it than that.

I enjoy finger feeding Ruby. I don’t see if as something inconvient. It’s not a bother. Sometimes I feel like it’s as close to nursing as I may ever get. While feeding her, I will often feel letdowns.

I feel very connected to her this way. She still associates something specific to my body with eating. Instead of seeing an inatimate object as her source of nourishment and comfort, she still sees me! Now, this makes her more dependent on me. I can’t leave her with others like others can leave bottle fed babies. So our relationship still mirrors that of a nursing relationship.

Leave a Reply

