I Think I Figured It Out!

I have ben concerned for a while about Ruby’s suck. It seems so weak. I have tried several different things to try to improve it:

  • Beckman Exercises (gonna try to write a post about what these are soon)
  • Tongue Tie exercises
  • Sippy Cup
  • Medium-sized tubing on the SNS
I’ve tried the medium-sized tubing several times. AFter a day or so, I have given up and moved back to the large tubing. This time I tried to stick it out. But she isn’t gaining weight now. She does well at times but then doesn’t do well at others. About a week ago I wrote that I figured I could help her suck by massaging her jaws, cheek, and neck while sucking. This worked well for a few days, but now we’re back to not doing well at all.
She eats best in the morning, late at night, or anytime there has been a long break between meals. I noticed a few days ago that she grabs her ears while she eats, specificially when she is struggling.
Last night, at around 4am, I was up feeding her in the hotel and it hit me like a ton of bricks. TMJ!
I have a misaligned jaw. I didn’t find this out until I went to the orthodontist at the age of 17. I was shocked to find out, but it made many things clear. When I was a young child I had a lot of trouble chewing food. I didn’t eat my first steak until the age of 18, after I had had braces for over a year to help straighten my teeth. I suffered pain when chewing gum and chewing tough food as a child. I was actually supposed to have surgery as a teenager to fix it. But due a specific exclusion in insurance, I didn’t have the operation.
So it makes sense to me that this mgiht be our problem! I know Ruby has hte ability to suck strongly. Because she does it several times a day. But it’s painful for her to do so.
I am currently on vacation in Fort Myers. Like a duck, I left the large sized tubing at home. I don’t go home for another few days. So I called my chiropractor and scheduled an appointment for Monday. And went to Target and…..
…… bought a bottle.
:-(((((((((((((((
She hasn’t taken a bottle in several months. I have been exclusively finger feeding her since the end of July. I enjoy finger feeding her. I can resume this when I get home where the large tubing is. I’m just praying that she will still be willing to finger feed. Also looking forward to seeing how Dr. Morris (chiro) and Tim Reep (CST) will be able to help realign her jaw.
2 responses

  1. Pingback: Emptying the Breast | Nursing Ruby Sue

  2. Pingback: Emptying the Breast | Samantha Guerra

Leave a Reply

