Pumping Trick Working!

 

TemptestBeauty and I have been texting each other for several days now. She is an amazing woman, who is still struggling to nurse her little girl named Ruby also.

She explained an awesome pumping trick to me that has helped bring my milk supply in big time. I was only pumping 8oz/day. Now, 4 days later, I’m pumping 15oz/day. And it’s still going up! I’m hopeful now that I may not have to find donor milk by November afterall.

This is also a huge step toward getting Ruby back to the breast. I have to have milk for her to drink, don’t I? Well, It’s getting to the point that I do!

The pumping trick is actually quite simple. The point is to create letdowns so that you can pump the milk out of the breast. After the first letdown from the pump is finished, you take the pump off and stimulate your nipples to create a letdown. Then pump the milk. Then create a letdown. Then pump the milk off until you have no milk left in the breast.

There are different ways to stimulate the nipple to create a letdown. Something may work the first time, but not the second time. To stimulate the nipples you can massage, rub, flick, roll them between you fingers from side to side, or from back to front. Try different motions until it feels good. Mine tingle a little. This may sound kind of funny, but stay with me. Oxytocin is the “love hormone.” Although this isn’t sexual, it will feel similar to something sexual because it involves the same hormones.  That good feeling (whether sexual or not) triggers the release of oxytocin, which causes letdowns. Once  you find a motion that creates this feeling, you just keep doing it for a minute or two. Then pump. It’s that simple.

5 responses

  1. Interestingly, I never felt any tingling when my milk let down. I would get dizzy, though. I suppose maybe I just never had a letdown, but I got dizzy about 10 seconds or so into nursing every time I nursed Naomi, and I would feel dizzy when I pumped too. It would subside after a few seconds, but I began to suspect that was my “letdown” signal.

    • After reading your comment, I realized that I was not very clear on the posting. The tingling is in the nipples, not the breast. It is a good feeling that triggers the release of the hormone oxytocin. That hormone causes letdowns. Now, some women do tingle in the breast when they letdown, but that’s a different tingle than what I’m referring to. Thanks for the comment! I have updated the post to be more clear and explain it better. Let me know if it needs additional clarification.

      • Ahhh, okay! It is much clearer now. I guess I assumed a bit, too, cause I’ve heard other women talking about a tingling feeling when they let down, and since I’ve never had that, I began to wonder about myself… LoL. Do you think the dizzy feeling was a let down for me? I honestly don’t know for sure, I was just guessing LoL.

      • I think I’ve heard others talking about dizziness too but I’m not sure. I never felt a letdown either. I just know I had one bc Baby swallows rapidly or large amount comes from the pump.

    • After reading your comment, I realized that I was not very clear on the posting. The tingling is in the nipples, not the breast. It is a good feeling that triggers the release of the hormone oxytocin. That hormone causes letdowns. Now, some women do tingle in the breast when they letdown, but that’s a different tingle than what I’m referring to. Thanks for the comment! I have updated the post to be more clear and explain it better. Let me know if it needs additional clarification.

Leave a Reply

