CST Afterall: I Should’ve Listened to Jennifer

***Warning: Super long post***

Every now and then, God brings people into my life for a reason. Even though I may not agree with them on many different topics (politics, religion, world view, etc), there is still much that I am to learn from them. I admit that sometimes in my attempt to “chew up the meat and spit out the bones,” I accidentally spit out some of the meat too. If you read one of my first posts, “I Should’ve Listened to Cee,” then you are familiar with what I’m talking about.

I have no doubts that God brought Jennifer Tow into my life to help me. And just in time, might I add. Jennifer is extremely knowledgeable about a great many different topics. However, her approach to natural healing, nutrition, etc is not widely accepted by the medical community. This causes much confusion for a desperate parent who is just trying to figure out what is best for her child. You have the doctors yelling and threatening on one side and her on the other. You do research and talk to different people you trust. Trying to make sense of it all.

Well, I didn’t listen to Jennifer about the craniosacrial therapy. We didn’t have the money to pay for it and I failed to find anyone qualified that took insurance. I did much research and found a chiropractor in Orange Park that did something similar: Sacrial Occipital Therapy (SOT).

The research was there. I had Dr. Morris (Ruby’s chiropractor that is knowledgeable and I trust him still) encouraging me that SOT may be the better route. So I went for it. Dr. Towns adjusted Ruby’s palate and I felt an immediate difference in his office. However, by the time we would arrive home, it would have already reverted to its original form.

I kinda gave up on this. Ruby is gaining weight well. We still have problems, but we’ve made a lot of progress. Let’s just move on. It’s very hard on both my kids and myself to go to doctors every single day. It’s just not sustainable. So I just let it go.

Several months ago I noticed that Ruby’s head looked weird to me. There were small ridges on the side of her head, a little back from where her temples would be. I asked Dr. Morris, Dr. Towns, and Dr. Miles about this. They all said not to worry about it. Then it got worse. The ridges become larger and grew over the top of her head. She looked like a dinosaur, no lie. I even teased her about it and called her a “Ruby-saurous.” Then a ridge developed down the middle of her forehead. Clearly something isn’t right. I did some research online and found that this is called a metopic ridge. It forms when the two frontal cranial bones become “fused” together, preventing the cranium from properly expanding. The fontanelle (soft spot) disappears. The head develops a triangular shape.

Metopic Ridge

The bones of the head begin to calcify at nine months of age. She is nine months old. This is a problem! My pediatrician kinda blew me off about it because they said, “Well, her head is still growing and that’s the main thing to look for. If it stops growing, THEN she may need to see  what a neurologist says about releasing the bones.” So…. we’re going to wait until her brain is being constricted and the bones are already fused to do something about it?! Her fontanelle was so small they had to hunt around for it for a while to find what was left!

She had a well visit 2 days before I got fed up with this and did my own research to find out what was wrong with her. Shouldn’t that have been noticed and mentioned to me at her well visit? Isn’t that the point of well visits?! To pick up on these things BEFORE they become major issues?!?!?!?!?!

*pitches a fit, throwing things violently, while screaming and yelling like a Toddler who wants to watch Mary Poppins, but has to go to the store instead.*

*Takes a mental break to calm down a bit* –

*Still breaking….*

Ok..

 

I think I’m calm enough now to continue.

I think….

Anyway! I called Tim Reep about this. Tim Reep is the CST that Dr. Morris originally referred me to when I first started working with Jennifer back in June. He calmed me down and assured me that he can help us. He said that he has much experience in this area and we will not need to go to a neurologist.

Well, her first appointment was today and I have to say, I am blow away! This man is so knowledgeable! Not just about CST, but many other things as well. He worked on Ruby for over an hour. At times there was so much heat released that he had to stop for a moment and let her cool down and his hands cool down before he could continue.

He never looked in or town inside her mouth. I don’t know how this worked, but when I fed her next (three hours after the appointment ended), her palate was fixed. I just fed her right before bed now, 12 hours after the appointment, and her palate is STILL fixed. Ruby always raised her left shoulder up to her ear when she would eat. She doesn’t do that anymore. The change in just one session is UNREAL! I want to kick myself with a steel-toed boot right now for not having sucked it up and gone back in June.

*Sigh*…. I just need to more carefully examine what I’m spitting out of my mouth. Keep the meat and get rid of the bones. God brings people to you for a reason… not so you can just let half of what they say go in one ear and out the other. Just like I should’ve listened to Cee, I should’ve listen to Jennifer. Makes me wonder what OTHER things I’ve overlooked and/or discarded that I should rethink.

The Metopic Ridge is indicated using blue arrows. The bulgue from the coronal suture is shown with red arrows.

The coronal suture is seen bulging in this picture. Also notice the triangular shape of Ruby's head.

Ruby's Metopic Ridge shown from the front.

7 responses

  1. So… I’m fairly certain Naomi has this same issue with her skull. I noticed months ago that the sides were like that, but I didn’t think much of it. Then her hair really grew in and hid it. I was thinking about this the other day and during church I felt her head, and it’s still the same. And on the top, there’s that ridge there. I feel horrible, but at the same time I knew nothing of it until your post, and didn’t notice Naomi’s head was still like this until the other day. Is there even any point in taking her to the doctor now, though, at 10 months? I mean, I’d have to get a referral for medicaid and all so I couldn’t just… go to see someone else. I suppose I should take her in anyway, since there is obviously a problem, but I can’t help feeling it might just be too late now. Ugh. D:

    (Not to mention I totally feel like it’s my fault for letting her sleep in her car seat so much and am freakishly ashamed of that… *kicks self*)

    • After a bit of looking in Google and seeing some photos, I have noticed that it’s not visible on her forehead, I can just feel it under her hair at the top of her head. This makes me feel a little better, but still, there seems to be a problem. I do think her forehead sticks out too far and I have for a while, but I thought maybe it was just a “baby” thing. It’s not BAD but it’s just enough to make me wonder…

      • The problem with cranial issues in babies is mostly our western medicine. Our culture of medicine is cover up the symptoms. They don’t look for the real problem and resolve it. (ie. for digestive problems they just remove an organ or prescribe medicine to cover up the symptoms. The real problem is usually diet. We aren’t eating healthy things that nourish us. There’s a good post on this topic by Jennifer Tow called Taking Good Care.) So if you take her to the doctor about this, most likely one of two scenarios will happen: 1. they will tell you it is abnormal, but not bad enough to operate on or 2. they’ll operate on her.

        This is completely unnecessary. The cranial bones of adults are movable, how much more for children and babies? But CranioSacral Therapy (CST) is not a standard of care. Therefore, it’s not covered by insurance. Although this is a MUCH cheaper and more effective option than surgery.

        Warning about CST: it is very controversial. I think this is because of the way they license their people. They allow ANYONE to take the course and then license them. So you have many people practicing it and they don’t have any business doing so. They don’t do a good job, so they give it a bad name. This actually happened to me, which is why it took so long for me to actually take Ruby to one. I think they would avoid these problems by only allowing people in who are experienced and licensed massage therapists and chiropractors.

        I think you should pray about it. Ask God’s direction. If you feel like this is something you should look into, call around to some CST people and talk to them about it. Tell them your financial situation and see if they will work with you. It may not even take many visits if the problem isn’t severe.

      • Thanks for the info. I’m actually kinda leaning toward taking her to our doctor just to see what he says. Couldn’t hurt, really. From what I’ve seen and read online, I’d be guessing they won’t want to operate right now.

        I’m kinda hesitant about CST, now, though… if the standards of licensing are that low, it makes me wary. And actually a quick Google tells me there aren’t any in town, which at this point pretty much rules it out… *sigh*

        I’ll give it some thought though. It’s a lot to consider. :/

      • You definitely need to make sure that the CST you seeks experienced with infants. At the same time, ANY provider you see should be experienced. We shouldn’t rely solely on licensing.

        If the doctor leans towards surgery, you’d have to go out of town for that anyway. So traveling to see a CST at that point may not be a bad idea.

  2. Hello. Please can anyone let me know if they did the therapy for the Metopic suture and if so the outcome? Any before and after pictures?

Leave a Reply

