A Change of Mindset

So before I tell you about the change of mindset that I’ve had, let me first tell you about what stupid thing I did…

Ruby had ANOTHER appointment today. My best friend recently had a baby. And then we had church. So the plan was to go to the doctor appointment, visit my friend, then go to church. Simple, right? yeah…. until you FORGET THE BAG OF BOTTLES AT HOME! I left the doctor appointment, get in the car, and pull the baby out to feed her… no bottles.

So  I call my friend and regretfully tell her of my woe. I drive home as quickly as possible because the baby is hungry (it’s a hour drive home, btw). I rush in the door, expecting to find the bag of bottles on the kitchen counter or on the table next to the door.  Nope… it’s not there.

Yup…. it’s at the doctor’s office. I left it at the doctor’s office. So I called the doctor’s office to see if they found it. So then I get to drive ANOTHER HOUR back to the doctor’s office to get the bottles. With a crying baby. Awww……. poor thing.. So hungry…. Well, if she would just nurse then she wouldn’t be hungry, now would she?

Well…. now that you know about my awful stupidity…. here comes the part where I get to tell you about the good that came out of it.

While I was waiting for the doctor’s office to call me back, I had to at least try to feed my poor hungry baby. So I skipped several of the step of my plan and went straight to finger feeding.

I mixed some coconut oil with sugar, put that on my finger so that she would be enticed to suck on it. I used a 20cc syringe full of pumped breast milk and fed her with syringe. She took to it really well!

I’ve been wanting to start the transitions that I have planned… but until now I’ve been nervous about it. Afraid to try for fear of failing. But Ruby didn’t seem to mind eating from my finger. For the first time in a LONG time, I can finally picture myself being able to nurse her. It’s really amazing how motiving and refreshing a change in mindset can be!

Leave a Reply

