Recipe for Homemade Formula

Disclaimer: The carrot juice will give your baby a nice orange color. People will probably either be amazed at how pretty his/her complexion is or ask if the baby has Jaundice.

Ingredients:

*with tips

1 quart of raw goat’s milk

* This can be tricky to find because it’s seasonal (at least the farm I get it from is). In Florida, you have to tell the seller it is for pet use only or they cannot sell it to you. Make sure you ask them for grade A goat milk. I get my milk from Rachelsie Dairy Goat Farm. You can visit their website to get information on purchasing goat milk. You can email them to order. They charge $10 a gallon.

*During off season, I use Albertson’s Goat milk from Whole Foods. It’s pasteurized. There is a Myenburg Organic Goat milk, but it is ultra-pasteurized. Read this article for information on why this is bad.

1 cup organic carrot juice

*get a juicer and make your own from organic carrots. It will save you big $$$. Plus it will be concentrated, therefore you will have to use less. If I buy carrot juice from Whole Foods I pay $9 for 4 cups. When I made my own using a juicer, one package of organic carrots (94 cents at Walmart) made one cup of concentrate. I used only 1/4 cup of the concentrate in the recipe.

4 tablespoons organic grade B maple syrup

1 teaspoon liquid infant vitamin drops (no preservatives)

1 teaspoon spirulina

1 teaspoon nutritional yeast

1 teaspoon probiotics

*I now use goat milk kefir. Click here for information on how to make your own.

1/2 teaspoon organic coconut oil

* I often have to give a cold bottle because we are out of the house. The coconut oil becomes solid while cold, clogging the bottle. If you choose to add this to the formula, you MUST warm it before feeding it to your baby. What works for me is I just give Ruby some coconut oil with my finger every day.

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large pitcher. After well mixed, I pour it in two old pasta jars. The maple syrup and spirulina will settle to the bottle while it sits. By transferring it to old pasta jars I can simply shake it and then pour into a bottle.

Because of the probiotics that are added to it, only make what you need for that day. Once the kefir or probiotics are added to the formula, the bacteria will begin to grow. You don’t want it to over take the formula and become too powerful.

10 responses

  1. Pingback: The Plan « Nursing Ruby Sue

  2. Pingback: Home-made Probiotics | Nursing Ruby Sue

  3. Pingback: The Plan | Samantha Guerra

    • This one adds coconut oil instead of the other oils.

      Sunflower oil is not very healthy because it is high in omega 6, not omega 3. Omega 3 is what the brain needs for development. Too much omega 6 is bad for you unless it is offset by a high amount if omega 3. I believe the ratio is 6:1 (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-499546/The-cooking-oils-make-healthy–dont.html).

      Olive oil is commonly adulterated with fillers that are not put on the label (http://m.newyorker.com/online/blogs/books/2012/02/the-exchange-tom-mueller.html).

      I’m not sure about cod liver oil. I supplimenter Ruby and my family with it, I just didn’t add it to the formula. You can try adding it if you want. As long as you don’t exceed the allowed dosage amounts for your baby I don’t believe it would hurt anything. I do think it could compromise the taste if the milk. If your baby is picky about taste as Ruby was, then you may want to leave it out so the baby doesn’t refuse the formula. Other than that, it should be fine.

      Carrot juice is very high b-vitamins. It is very common for babies that are tongue-tied to be deficient in b-vitamins. This is bc most of them lack the MTHFR gene needed to properly change folic acid (a synthetic version of folate) into something that the body can break down and absorb. If your baby’s skins turns a little orange. You should decrease the amount of carrot juice in the formula.

      • Thanks.

        So I made formula. Was wondering how its stetile. Im using lightly homogenized goat milk as it’s all I can get. Its making whey n putting stuff in blender. How do I make sure it all stays sterile? Plus out and about I will need store one or two bottles im cool bag with ice packs

      • It’s not supposed to be sterile. The baby needs beneficial bacteria in their digestive system to be healthy. Without this they will have yeast (candida) overgrowth, which leads to food allergies, gut damage, toxicity, and a very, very weak immune system. Breastmilk contains loads and loads of this type of bacteria. This is one of the many reasons artificial milk is so harmful to infants. Animal milk contains benefical bacteria as well until it is pasteurized.

        The addition of benefical bacteria into the formula via raw milk instead of pasteurized milk and also probiotics, will ensure the milk does not spoil. Good bacteria eats bad bacteria. Over time the good bacteria will reproduce in large numbers and consume the sugars that are naturally found in milk. When this happens the milk will taste sour. Raw milk will not spoil like pasteurized milk for this reason, it will sour instead, but is still healthy.

        You should make formula and keep it cold to prevent it from souring. Only make enough to last 2-3 days at a time.

      • Wow this is excellent it makes sense. My baby is having horrible tummy trouble on formula. Really toxic smells! I need wait few days till all ingredients come sad to say I cant access raw milk. But its lightly homogenized

      • You cannot buy raw milk in stores. I searched online and found a local goat farm to buy from.

        I’m glad you have found it helpful. I hope your little one feels better soon. Borion makes a great colic medicine called cocyntal. You can usually find it at health food stores, online, and BabiesRUs recently started carrying it.

Leave a Reply

