Still Holding On

It’s wild how everything is going. We had a doctor appointment Thursday morning. Ruby is now 9 pounds 9.5 ounces. That means that she has gained over a pound in two weeks. That is MAJOR progress! The pediatrician said she was “cauctiously optimistic.” Whatever! I’m really happy about it.

I’m very happy about her weight gain and how her overall health has improved. But Ruby still isn’t taking the breast. The only way she will nurse is we coax her on by dribbling sugar water in her mouth and keeping a continuous flow of milk in her mouth by using  a homemade SNS.  When it comes down to it, she just plain doesn’t want to nurse. That’s hard for me to handle sometimes.

I’m more concerned about her weight and her being healthy at this point than I do nursing her. I was just about to give up again until I got another phone call….

Dr Sandra Sullivan is the lady who clipped Ruby’s tongue last Thursday. She went on vacation the next day. She called me today, while she’s still on vacation to see how we’re doing.  I explained the situation to her. She wants me to come back in Tuesday.  I misunderstood her. She only partially clipped Ruby’s tongue. She wants to clip some more. She didn’t want to clip too much in one day because she is  older. She also plans to have their occupational therapist take a look at her and make sure she is using her tongue properly after the clipping. She is very optimistic about getting Ruby back to the breast.

Every time I’m just about to give up (or even actually do give up) someone comes through for me again. I’m so thankful for all the great support I’m receiving!

Leave a Reply

