The Plan

After talking with Jennifer Tow for several hours the other day, there are problems with Ruby that we didn’t even know about. After watching her attempt to nurse, drink a bottle, and accessing our history and diet, there is much work to be done.

Problem 1: My Milk Supply

Jennifer suspects that due to Ruby’s inability to nurse properly, my milk supply may not have ever been fully established. If it was, then there is a good possibility it was compromised early on. As of right now, I can only pump between 3.5 – 5 ounces every three hours. That just simply isn’t enough for a six month old baby, particularly one that has much catching up to do.

Solution: Take herbs and change diet

    • I am to order galactogogue tea. This tea was made by a mama, struggling with milk supply also. I must contact her personally to order it.
    • Order and take Go-Lacta
    • In the meantime I am taking More Milk Plus from Motherlove (More Milk Plus Special Blend was the top recommendation, but Whole Foods doesn’t carry it).
    • The diet changes were discussed in my previous post. But I am eliminating Gluten and Dairy.
    • I am eating one avocado a day. This will be a particular challenge for me, as I hate them with a brutal passion. I think they taste like mashed up grass. Time to get my creative juices flowing and find ways to make this awful tasting stuff bearable. Calling my Sister-in-law will be a start. She supposedly makes really good guacamole.

The reason for eating an avocado is this: There is fat contained within the fruit that stimulates communication in the body between the intestines and the breasts. When the gut is damaged by improper eating habits, lack of good bacteria, etc, this communication is compromised, resulting in less milk production.

Further ideas to help increase my supply:

    • Obtaining a breast shield for my pump that is the correct size
    • hand expressing milk after the pump has pulled down all it can
    • I’m also considering un-weaning Loretta
    • Getting Ruby back to the breast

Problem 2: Ruby uses the wrong muscles to eat

Because of her inability to move her tongue to eat, Ruby compensated by using different muscles. She engages her neck, shoulder, and chest muscles when eating. Even now when she is drinking from a bottle she brings her shoulders up near her ears, pulls her chin down into her chest and tenses all these muscles.

Solution: Chiropractor and CranioSacrial Therapy (CST)

Jennifer found a chiropractor that is experienced and knowledgeable of Ruby’s condition and the treatment thereof.

I have very little understanding of CST, but have been told by several people that I trust that it will be very effective in treating this problem.

Problem 3: Possible Tongue Tie Reattachment

Following Ruby’s initial tongue clipping, I wasn’t given to exercises to do with her to prevent it from reattaching. It is possible that it may have reattached for this reason.

Solution: Re-evalutate her tongue and possibly re-clip it

I was initially concerned about the treatment of this. The only ENT in town that would touch her tongue was the doctor who originally clipped it. The only reason he was willing to do what he did is because he clipped it while she was under general anesthesia  for a hernia repair.

But Jennifer has friends in low places. She has connections to a doctor in Gainesville who is willing to re-evaluated and possibly re-clip her tongue in an office visit. W00t!

Update: Dr. Sandra Sullivan contacted me PERSONALLY to re-clip Ruby’s tongue that day (June 17). It turns out that her tongue did not re-attach, but instead, wasn’t clipped far enough. The only way to tell if the tongue has been freed is if the infant has mobility. This is impossible to tell if she is unconscious.

After the clipping, they were able to get Ruby back to the breast. It was so wonderful, having her nurse for the first time in over a week. They had me use a bigger nipple shield (I was using 16mm, they brought me 24mm) and dipped it in sugar water. Some may consider it to be cheating, but I’m ok with cheating.

Problem 4: Ruby’s slow (or lack of) weight gain

Jennifer believes that this is in large part due to a gut problem that is enabling her to absorb her nutrients properly.

There are several reasons that Ruby has an unhealthy digestive system:

    • While in utero, an infant’s digestive system is dormant. Once the infant is born and begins to move his/her tongue while nursing, the movement of the tongue awakens the digestive track. Due to the restriction of her tongue, her digestive system may not have become fully operational. This is why many tongue tie babies only have bowel movements once a week. The stool just sits in the intestines.
    • When Ruby went on her nursing strike, I was unable to pump enough for her and had to use store bought formula to supplement. Formula is dead (as opposed to breast milk, which has living cells in it). It doesn’t provide the same nutrients, fiber, and bacteria that breast milk does. Therefore it compromises the digestive system.
    • My diet and intestinal flora will strongly influence the baby’s health and intestinal flora. There’s a popular and true statement that is applicable here. “Heal the mother and you will heal the baby.”

Solution: There are several things that need to happen over time to fix these problems.

    • Give Ruby probiotics
    • Make my own formula
    • The chiropractor will help to fully awaken the digestive track
      • He has an adjustment he does to her back that stimulates the nervous that travel to the intestines. Since she has been seeing him (June 17) she has been having 1-2 bowel movements a day.
    • Correct my diet and take probiotics myself
    • Have the tongue re-clipped
      • Dr. Sandra Sullivan contacted me PERSONALLY to re-clip Ruby’s tongue that day (June 17).
So there you have it! There’s the Plan! Wish me luck.
8 responses

  1. Hi Samantha,

    I just want to say 1st off that you have been an inspiration to me! My 9 mo old and I have been on a similar journey. We just had our 4th TT/LT revision.

    Anyway, now we suspect food allergies and are switching from donor milk to the goat milk formula.

    Can you tell me how much of the kefir you put in or do you kefir all the goat milk for the formula?

    Do you know if anything special has to be done to the grains if they are also used for cow milk to avoid cross-contamination?

    Thank you!

    Jessica

    • Jessica,
      I am so very sorry about the late response. I don’t recall having seen an email to alert me of your comment. Things have been so busy with us beginning the new diet that I haven’t logged on in a very long time.
      I’m very sorry to hear about your struggles. It is the most difficult thing to experience – watching your children struggle. I hope that my story and website continues to help and bless you and your family.
      I made fresh kefir with goat milk once a week. The rest of the week, I used coconut milk. My three-year-old, Loretta, and I drink the coconut milk. I would reserve the goat milk and use it little at a time throughout the week. I started with adding about a teaspoon to the formula and then increased as she tolerated it. I got my milk kefir grains from a friend who used it in raw cow milk previously. Althought I suspected that Ruby my be sensative to caisen, I still used them. I figured that the benefit from the naturally ferminted probiotics would out weight the risk of reaction. She never seemed to struggle because I began with such a small amount.
      I know that helps you. If you have any more questions, you may email me directly if you don’t recieve a prompt response from me on the blog. Samanthaguerra223@gmail.com

      • Also Samantha, do you know what purpose the carrot juice in the formula serves or do you know who might know?

        So glad to hear Ruby Sue is doings so well on GAPS!!!

      • This is my best guess based on what I have learned. It was never told me directly.

        Most of the time, children who suffer from gut damage are deficient in the b vitamins. Carrots are good sources of this.

        Samantha G

Leave a Reply

