He is God of the Suddenly

It’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to sit down a blog. I miss it. But a lot has happened the past few days so I really haven’t had time.

Jennifer Tow has been a life safer. No kidding. If you are struggling with breastfeeding and have exhausted all local resources, I highly recommend a conference with her. Jennifer has identified several problems with Ruby that I didn’t even notice and is getting me in touch with the appropriate people to have the problems fixed. All of that will be in my post “The Plan” when I get a chance to write all of it out.

Some the of issues where a tongue tie needing to be reclipped, needing to see a chiropractor that can help her specific problems, and her weight loss.

Jennifer gave me a recipe to make my own baby formula. Ruby was not responding well to Similac. She broke out in a rash, is gassy, and even started refusing to eat it. So we tried the homemade formula. Although this may seem like an extreme move, Ruby is six months old. She is at the age to eat baby food now. Many of the ingredients in the formula are foods she would start eating at this age anyway. Plus, this is only a suppliment to breastmilk. She eats only about 10 ounces of it a day. If you are interested in the recipe, you can contact me and I will email it to you.

We started Ruby on the formula Wednesday. Ruby had gained up to 9 pounds 1 ounce, but lost weight again back down to 8 pounds 13 ounces. As of Friday morning, she was already back up to 9 pounds 1 ounces using the homemade formula. Her gassiness is gone. The rash is still there, so I’m not sure what to think about that. Maybe I’ll upload a picture of it and you guys can all tell me what you think.

Thursday was CRAZY! I skyped with Jennifer first thing in the morning and she had already lined up an appointment with a chiropractor for me that day at 11:30. It was 9:30 when I found this out and the chiropractor is over an hour away. Fun. So I threw the kids in the car and left.

When I was about 15 minutes away from the office, the phone rings. It was Dr. Sandra Sullivan from Gainesville. She wanted me to be in Gainesville no later than 3pm to reclip Ruby’s tongue. I had to leave the Chiropractor’s office in the middle of the visit to get there on time.

They suspected that Ruby’s tongue had healed back shut, but upon examination it was said that the first surgeon didn’t clip it far enough back. This is not surprising because it was clipped while Ruby was sudated. The only way to tell if a posterior tongue tie is clipped enough is to see if the infant has full mobility of the tongue. That can’t be determined unless the infant is awake.

After the clipping, they dipped a nipple shield in sugar water and put her back onto the breast. This was the first time she nursed in over a week! The nipple shield I was using was an extra small (16 mm). But they told me that you size the shield to the infant’s mouth, not the nipple. I was given size medium (24mm) and a few cups of sugar water to go home with.

The first attempt to nurse at home was fail. Misirable fail. Discouragement and dispair consumed me. My milk supply is at risk. When I had to start pumping I could get about 5 ounces. Now I’m down to 3. I thought I was going to be able to give it a boost by cross nursing with a friend’s baby. But that fell through. I’m still very concerned about it. Thinking about trying to unwean my toddler, Loretta. Loretta nursed well but weaned at 18 months old because my supply dried up from being pregnant with Ruby. I had orginally planned to tandem nurse.

To get Ruby to the breast now is quite a scene. I have to use a supplimenter to keep her interest since she is used to a bottle now. Problem: she’s six months old and has learned to use her hands. She grabs the tube and pulls it right out. So I put the syring in the pocket of the nursing pillow, thread the tube under a towel, under my breast and come up from underneath. It is very involved. I feel like a science experiment.

Sometimes I still can’t get her to nurse. So I still use the bottle a good bit. I have to feed her somehow. But it’s progress. And it’s sudden progress! But that’s how God moves. When all hope is lost, he is there…. suddenly.

Like when Moses and the children of Isael were standing before the Red Sea. Moses walked raised Aaron’s rod and suddenly their circumstances changed. Jonah was in the whale’s belly. He prayed, repented and then suddenly was released onto dry ground. On the day of Pentecost they were all waiting for the Holy Ghost. Ten days they waited. And then the Bible says “Suddenly, there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire.”

He truly is God of the Suddenly!

20110618-045655.jpg

One response

  1. Sam, I can’t see the rash all that clearly, but does it have little blisters within? If so, it looks like it could be impetigo to me. It’s an bacterial infection and is usually treated with a prescription antibacterial cream or ointment… and it’s highly contagious so be very careful when you’re touching it, wash it several times a day with clear warm water and reapply the cream… and don’t let Loretta near it. Wash hands a LOT.

Leave a Reply

